Events - 16.05.2012 - 00:00 

HSG celebrates Dies academicus

On Saturday, May 12, HSG celebrated its traditional Dies academicus with members of the university community and numerous guests from science, economics and politics.
Source: HSG Newsroom


12 May 2012. Dr. Hans-Ulrich Doerig was appointed the university’s new honorary senator. Prof. Richard Edward Baldwin, Ph.D., a top-level researcher in the field of international economics; Prof. Friedemann Schulz von Thun, an outstanding communications researcher, and Prof. Francis Koh, Ph.D., a bridge-builder between finance, accounting and management, each received an honorary doctorate in economics.

Reto Schuppli honored for teaching

The Latsis Award of the Geneva Latsis Foundation went to Prof. Dr. Martin Müller. Peter Bille Larsen (IHEID Geneva) received the Latin America Award for dissertations at Swiss universities, from the fund for the promotion of HSG’s Latin America research. HSG’s student body gave the Credit Suisse Award for Best Teaching to Dr. Reto Schuppli, assistant lecturer of mathematics.

City of St.Gallen as a guest region

In his ceremonial speech to the university community and guests from science, economics and politics, President Thomas Bieger talked about “Global Intellectual Centers and their Regional Roots”. The topic of Prof. Dr. Oliver Gassmann’s speech was “International Research and Regional Practice – a Symbiosis?”. Student Body President Philipp Wellstein spoke about “A ‘No’ to the Mess of Pottage – Role Models from a Student’s Point of View.” This year’s guest region was the City of St.Gallen.